Hi, everyone – while exploring the web I came across articles regarding child model exploitation and found a particularly disturbing article that photographed five child models.  I’ve added pictures to this post so you can see exactly what I saw when I was reading the article and viewing the pictures.  The name of this article is “Five Girl Models Who Are Being Photographed Like They’re Women,” Author Koa Meck and the website was www.mommyish.com.

Image

Picture 1 – This young lady is Lottie Moss, age 13 – quite an outfit, huh?  And you call these shoes?!?

ImageImage

Picture 2 and 3 – Thylane Blondeau, age 10 – not only what an outfit, but what a shoot and the shoes don’t even fit; Elle Fanning, age 13 – again, what an outfit.

I’ve tried to capture in my mind what these photos may try to accomplish in the world of fashion or advertising, and I really can’t seem to grasp it.  Actually, I find it offensive that girls at this age are being portrayed in such a light; it almost seems perverse.  I find it hard to imagine that agents and advertisers would see any legitimate purpose for these photos of these young girls and that whatever type of media they’re being printed in would do so in good conscience.

I can understand the models’ desire to look beautiful, act older than they are – after all, how many times have any of us put on adult outfits to “dress up.”  Well, this isn’t dress up, and I can’t help but wonder if these girls can truly appreciate what their image portrays.  I remember when I did “dress up” it certainly wasn’t accompanied by a make-up artist, a hair designer, much less comparing the types of outfits worn.

The truth is, I don’t think they do.  If looking at it from a psychological perspective, this stage of development often accompanies the inability to appreciate consequences of decisions – whether good or bad, not a well developed or defined sense of self that can easily be manipulated by members of their peer group much less by adults they may trust and admire.

So, call me a prude.  I just think this is really over the top.